Winds of Plague Debut “Kings of Carnage” via Revolver Magazine

winds of plague

Los Angeles metal titans Winds of Plague have released another all new music video today for their newest track “Kings of Carnage.” Both “Kings of Carnage” and previously released “Never Alone” are available as iTunes instant gratification tracks. Fans who pre-order the LP on iTunes will get both tracks as an instant download. “Kings of Carnage” and “Never Alone” are also available on all streaming platforms.

Winds of Plague will release “Blood Of My Enemy” via Entertainment One Music (eOne) / Good Fight Music on October 27. The all new effort will be the follow up to the widely celebrated Resistance LP released in 2013. Johnny continues, “Over a year ago I started making weekly trips up to a small apartment in North Hollywood on my days off to work on music for WOP with Noah Sebastian from Bad Omens. It was strange at first since past WOP records were worked on in larger recording studio’s or rehearsal spaces and now here I am sitting on the floor of this bedroom working on record number six.”

Johnny continues, “Although it was different and humbling it proved to be the unedited creative environment we needed for this record. We had no time limits, no ‘suits’ giving their input. It was just a few friends sitting in a room together, having a good time creating music. Something I haven’t been able to experience in a very long time. Sometimes to move forward you have to take a few steps back. I can confidently say this is the most satisfied I have been with a WOP record. I feel producer’s Noah Sebastian and Joakim Karlsson have helped us to further develop our unique approach to symphonic deathcore with distinct epic orchestral backed chorus’s walking the fine line of brutal and melodic.”

Additionally, the band teamed up with artist Pär Olofsson to create the stunning cover art seen below. “‘Blood Of My Enemy’ takes us back to the iconic samurai theme. The imagery is inspired by a lyric from the title track ‘I will give my life on the battlefield, drowning in the blood of my enemy’ Which represents to me a ‘I will fight to the end’ state of mind. Pär Olofsson brilliantly portrays the aftermath of an epic war showing an almost celestial spark of life amongst the carnage.”

Blood of My Enemy Track List

  1. A New Day
  2. Nameless Walker
  3. Kings of Carnage
  4. Soul Eater
  5. From Failure, Comes Clarity
  6. Blood of My Enemy
  7. Snakeskin
  8. Never Alone
  9. 5150
  10. Either Way you Lose
  11. A Walk Among the Dead
  12. Dark Waters

Winds of Plague on Tour

Winds of Plague will support Suicide Silence on the “10 Year Anniversary of The Cleansing” tour for a handful of dates in December, and in Chicago on Saturday, November 25.

The list of bands who’ve shared tour posters and laminates with Winds Of Plague does itself speak volumes of the band’s diversity and ultimate accessibility, cloaked as it may be in an ambitious sound of infamy and extremity: Danzig, As I Lay Dying, Hatebreed, Parkway Drive, Dimmu Borgir, We Came As Romans, Attila, All Shall Perish, Chelsea Grin.

As one of the elite breakout bands in the heavy music scene of the past decade, Winds of Plague carry forward the torch reignited by the New Wave Of American Heavy Metal, made up of bands like Killswitch Engage, As I Lay Dying and All That Remains that preceded them (their band name, in fact, was inspired by an Unearth lyric). Winds of Plague subverts the formula of each strain of metal that came before them, picking apart the strongest elements of the genre, only to superpower them all over again.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.