Noothgrush / Corrupted Reissue Pivotal Split LP via 20 Buck Spin

Noothgrush / Corrupted split LP cover

20 Buck Spin is proud to re-unleash one of the most corrosive and damaging split albums, and one of the earliest landmark sludge metal releases, with a reissue of the long out-of-print Noothgrush/Corrupted split LP.

It’s hard to believe that twenty years have passed since two of the bleakest purveyors of doomed psychosis, namely Noothgrush and Corrupted, unleashed thirty-five minutes of suffering on one split LP. Perhaps thought buried by grime and rust, the much sought-after release has now been excavated in 2017 and given a fresh layer of tar via remastered audio and new artwork.

Today, there are countless bands mining every single facet of what is mostly incorrectly called “doom.” Initially released in 1997 through Reservoir Records, the Noothgrush/Corrupted split reminds us that “sludge,” doom’s most nihilistic offshoot, wasn’t about upbeat warm waves of stoner’ riffs and top dollar vintage tees, but about landfills of hatred, misery, and self-loathing, a total negation of life and a completely uncompromising and untrendy sound. Music that wants to punish you and itself. The album leads with Noothgrush’s “Hatred For The Species” and “Draize,” and ses Corrupted’s lumbering “Inactive” consuming the B-side.

The Noothgrush/Corrupted LP has been remastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege (Vastum, Acephalix, Nightfell), enhancing the all-consuming dread that makes even the bleakest Vitus moments sound cheerful by comparison. The reissue is fitted with new artwork by Hal Rotter of Rotting Graphics (Atriarch, Vehemence, Vallenfyre) which appropriately conveys the grim atmosphere within, and Brad Boatright’s remaster.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.