Monotheist Premieres Mark Of The Beast Pt. 2: Scion Of Darkness

Monotheist - album cover for Scourge

Orlando’s extreme progressive death metallers Monotheist have partnered with No Clean Singing to present their brand new single and second part of their mini suite, “Mark Of The Beast.”
“Mark Of The Beast: Part 2 “Scion Of Darkness” is the fourth track on their forthcoming album, Scourge which streets March 16th via Prosthetic Records.

Brimming with philosophical provocation, the new single explores the dire consequences and hopelessness at an attempt to reach spiritual ascension through technology.

Prophet of Monotheist further explains: “Scion of Darkness is about man’s hope of transcendence through technology. It’s about the fallacy of trusting our own frail and corrupted nature in an effort to ascend to salvation and the belief that this path ultimately leads to disappointment and enslavement. Musically, this track is the second part of a two-part mini suite entitled “Mark of the Beast” and features a recurring, Baroque-inspired motif that is present part 1 (the previous track in the album track listing). It’s also one of the most enjoyable songs to play off of the album. We hope you all enjoy this track and check out the album when it drops March 16th!”

Mixing the brutality of Suffocation, the melodic sensibilities of Extol and the earnest riffing of Death with explorations into classical and jazz realms; Monotheist present their forthcoming album and label debut, Scourge. Featuring JJ “Shiv” Polachek (7 Horns 7 Eyes, Nekroi Theoi) on vocals and Prophet on guitars, Scourge was mixed and mastered by Aaron Smith (7 Horns 7 Eyes) and will be released on all digital outlets, CD and limited edition blue w/ black and orange splatter LP.

Scourge features 8 tracks, clocking in at almost an hour of progressive and technical death metal and features guest contributions from metal luminaries Bobby Koelble (ex-Death, Death to All) and Christian Alvestam (Scar Symmetry).

Monotheist’s Scourge track-listing

  1. The Grey King
  2. The Great Chain at the Neck of the Earth
  3. Mark of the Beast Pt. 1: The Image
  4. Mark of the Beast Pt. 2: Scion of Darkness
  5. Infinite Wisdom
  6. Desolate It Mourns Before Me
  7. Abominable Acts
  8. Scourge

Monotheist is:

  • Shiv – Vocals
  • Prophet – Guitar
  • Cooper Bates – Drums/Vocals
  • Tyler McDaniel – Guitar/Vocals
  • Jose Figueroa – Bass

Follow Monotheist online:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.