Iron Monkey to Release New Album “9-13” This October

Iron Monkey 9-13 album cover

Cult UK doom/sludge outfit Iron Monkey return with 9-13, their first new full-length in almost two decades. After disbanding in 1999 due to the death of their original singer J.P. Morrow, the group has reformed for phase two of their mission. Recorded in their hometown of Nottingham in Spring 2017 A.D. with producer Johnny A. Carter, 9-13 is nine songs and 48 minutes of total nihilism. Now older, more cynical, and more isolationist, Iron Monkey are back to usurp the scene, then crush its skull. Without question, their most focused, aggressive, and direct material to date, 9-13 is an all-out assault of violent hatred and nightmarish negativity. Recommended listening for fans of pain, suffering, and misanthropy. Watch the new video for OmegaMangler. 

“9-13” is set for release October 20th on CD, LP, and digital formats via Relapse Records.

Iron Monkey 9-13 Track Listing:

  1. Crown Of Electrodes
  2. Omegamangler
  3. 9-13
  4. Toadcrucifier – R.I.P.P.E.R.
  5. Destroyer
  6. Mortarhex
  7. The Rope
  8. Doomsday Impulse Multiplier
  9. Moreland St. Hammervortex

Iron Monkey was beaten to life in the year of your Lord, 1994, at the location of Nottingham, England. The original members were named: J.P.. Morrow, J. Rushby, S. Watson, D. Dalziel, and J. Greaves. Influences were primarily Eyehategod, Buzzov*en, Floor, Grief, and various hardcore punks and heavy metals.

Iron Monkey shit out six disgusting tracks of raw sludge-core that were released on the Union Mill label then later on Earache Records. During this period, S. Watson was thrown out and replaced by God’s lonely man, Dean Berry. 1998 saw the release of the album Our Problem, also on Earache Records, a masterpiece of negative rock that instigated peace on earth and goodwill to all men.

This was succeeded by a split release on Man’s Ruin Records with Church Of Misery from Japan. J. Rushby soon abdicated and the band found a replacement in the manner of S. O’hara of Acrimony. Iron Monkey was destroyed sometime in 1999. Vocal terror J. P. Morrow died of a heart attack in June of 2002. Rest in noise.

“The band reformed for no reason in the winter of 2016 with original members J. Rushby and S. Watson, with the addition of current Chaos UK drummer Brigga, forming the shape of an inverted black triangle of vitriol and phase two of operations. Iron Monkey do not care about your scene, bands, or opinions…Electrocution,Doom,Omega Omega Omega.” – J. Rushby, 2017.

Follow Iron Monkey on Facebook.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.