Dire Peril Announces New Album “The Extraterrestrial Compendium”

Dire Peril

American sci-fi power metal duo Dire Peril featuring Jason Ashcraft (Helion Prime) and vocalist John Yelland (Judicator) announce they will be unleashing their new album “The Extraterrestrial Compendium” on November 9th, 2018 via Divebomb Records. The debut full length follows Dire Peril’s three previous EP releases “Astronomical Minds” (2013), “Queen of The Galaxy” (2014) and “Through Time and Space” (2015).

Inspired by all manners of science fiction, “The Extraterrestrial Compendium” bases each one of its 12 songs on classic sci-fi movies including Predator, Total Recall, Starship Troopers, and E.T. and features guest performances by Brittney Slayes (Unleash The Archers) reprising her role as Barbarella for a re-recorded version of “Queen of the Galaxy” and the mighty Arjen Anthony Luccassen (Ayreon, Star One, The Gentle Storm), who lends his voice and guitar skills to album-closer “Journey Beyond the Stars”.

“The album takes you on a journey all based on different sci-fi films. From fast aggressive right hand attacks (in style of Iced Earth) to softer acoustic passages.” says Ashcraft.

The band’s first single “Heart of The Furyan” is a track based on the “The Chronicles of Riddick” series, but more importantly the third installment “Riddick” where the duo demonstrate a very strong gallop riff during the verse, a slow acoustic middle section and big chorus.

Track Listing:

  1. Yautja (Hunter Culture)
  2. Planet Preservation
  3. Enemy Mine
  4. The Visitor
  5. Total Recall
  6. Queen of the Galaxy*
  7. Roughnecks
  8. Blood in the Ice
  9. Heart of the Furyan
  10. Altair IV: The Forbidden Planet
  11. Always Right Here
  12. Journey Beyond the Stars**

*Features Brittney Slayes
**Features Arjen Anthony Lucassen

Album Band Line Up:

  • Jason Ashcraft (Guitar, bass)
  • John Yelland (Vocals)
  • Featuring Brittney Slayes as guest vocalist on Queen of the Galaxy
  • Featuring Arjen Anthony Lucassen as a guest

Live Band Line Up:

  • Jason Ashcraft (Rhythm Guitars)
  • John Yelland (Vocals)
  • Chelsea McMasters (Bass)
  • Steven Soderberg (Lead Guitars)
  • Tom Tierney (Drums)

Dire Peril was an idea that goes as far back as Jason Ashcraft’s (guitars, bass) high school years. The band’s name was inspired by a PC game he used to play, called “Vampire: The Masquerade – Bloodline”, which has stuck with him ever since.

Originally formed in 2009, the band went on to create three EPs: Astronomical Minds, Queen of the Galaxy and Through Time and Space, and proceeded to play a handful of local shows, as well as a few out of town gigs. In 2015, feeling like things just weren’t as they should be, Ashcraft decided to take a step back and take a hard look at where the band was headed.

Inspired by all manner of science fiction, especially classic sci-fi movies, Dire Peril regrouped as a double piece; Ashcraft was joined by singer John Yelland, and together they began working on the debut album titled “The Extraterrestrial Compendium,” set for release on November 9, 2018. Recruiting a live line up enabled them to start playing live shows including an upcoming North American tour with Seven Kingdoms allowing the American sci-fi power metal band to reach its final form and share their dark, aggressive adventure with the masses.

“Dire Peril”prove that America still has great talent in the Power Metal realm” – Metal-Temple.com

Dire Peril will also be hitting the road with their recruited live line up to support Seven Kingdoms this coming November on select USA tour
dates (dates listed below):

Seven Kingdom Tour Dates w/ Dire Peril

  • Nov 14 – Cobra Lounge – Chicago, IL
  • Nov 15 – Riot Room – Kansas City, MO
  • Nov 17 – Rockhouse Bar & Grill – El Paso, TX
  • Nov 18 – Rail Club – Ft. Worth, TX
  • Nov 19 – Come And Take It Live – Austin, TX
  • Nov 20 – Southport Hall – New Orleans, LA

Follow Dire Peril online:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.