Death of a Nation Return with Release of Self-Titled EP

death of a nation

Sociopolitical hardcore watchdogs Death of a Nation made their return with their debut, self-titled EP, available digitally from No Sleep Records.

“After the anxiety inducing past 2 weeks of national (US) news, the timing and context was right to get these songs out there. It is far too relevant to what is happening in the White House and the ongoing nightmare policies/blatant fabrications to not. We are facing quite possibly the most terrifying moment in world history. In an ever increasing totalitarian slide worldwide, we are the victims of the madness that is power. Some more, some less. We hope these songs find you well, we hope these songs promote dialogue and solidarity. Time Presses.” -Death Of A Nation

Actions speak louder than just words. All proceeds from the sales of the digital EP will be donated to PrYSM (Providence Your Student Movement). PrYSM organizes at the intersections of race, class, gender, and sexual orientation by centering youth, female, queer, and people of color leadership in our campaigns, our organization, and our communities. PrYSM mobilizes queer Southeast Asian youth, families, and allies to build grassroots power and organize collectively for social justice.

“We put our ears to the streets of PVD and asked a broad spectrum of local activists/radical comrades on their opinions of local organizations for the youth, some we were already familiar with, some we weren’t. It was eye-opening to get a refresher on social justice and educational groups in the neighborhoods of Providence, RI. A lot of these options weren’t around or they were very outdated when I was growing up. It’s uplifting to know that there are people out there protecting and nurturing kids that could easily fall prey to the violence of inner city claws. This comes down to survival and a chance at an empowered life. That is what PrYSM is doing and we respect that not only in a personal correlation sort of way, but as a form of solidarity.” – Death of a Nation

Death of a Nation is a reaction to the world we live in. It is musical journalism. It’s a collection of individuals for whom punk music and ethics has served as the guiding light for their actions and moral compass. It is the cumulative sum of their anger as well as their compassion. As musicians, sound is their canvas, songs their voice. Angst meeting melancholy, rage meeting reflection.

Founded by members of Defeater and Verse, Death of a Nation will speak in the way they know how, condemning senseless hate, and promoting compassionate acceptance.

Death of a Nation is:

  • Jason Maas
  • Quinn Murphy
  • Andrew Reitz
  • Matthew Spencer
  • Evan White

EP Tracklisting:

  1. Don’t Speak For Me
  2. No Love From Above
  3. The United States Of Amnesiacs
  4. Metaphors For Murders

Follow Death of a Nation online:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.