Dawn Ray’D Sign with Prosthetic Records

Dawn Ray'D
(Photo by Rob Adamson)

UK based black metal band Dawn Ray’D have officially signed to Prosthetic Records. The politically-charged three-piece from Liverpool will release their first full length album, The Unlawful Assembly, on digipack compact disc on November 24, 2017, with the digital release hitting all platforms on October 27.

The Unlawful Assembly further sharpens Dawn Ray’D’s precise malevolent attack of melody and blasts, delving deeper and reaching beyond the depths explored in their 2015 debut EP, A Thorn, A Blight.

Recorded by Tom Dring at Vagrant Studios, The Unlawful Assembly is divided into two parts: The Wild Service and The Wild Magic; it is equal parts malice and spite; ethereality and exultation. From the clean singing of “A Litany To Cowards” to the thrashing pace of “Emptiness Beneath The Great Emptiness”, the album, “breathes new fire into black metal’s small but sturdy leftist tradition, crafting potent, violin-laced atmospheric black metal songs that double as battle hymns for the class war,” according to Noisey.

Already receiving vast critical praise including mentions of “Album of the Year,” Dawn Ray’D are using the platform to express their political views and beliefs, which simply stated, are rooted in anarchism. The album as a whole can be dissected and examined on many levels however with the lyrical themes being as complex as the music.

The band have already made their presence known in the US through a recent summer tour with Michgan-based atmospheric black metal group Dakhma. They’ve done countless DIY shows throughout Europe, and have played the Paranoya Fest in Germany, No Sanctuary in Croatia, and Fluff Fest in Czech Republic.

The Unlawful Assembly is a multi-pronged attack, but with one consistent message: “Inaction is not an option”.

Dawn Ray’D European Tour Dates:

  • 23.09 – The Wheatsheaf – Oxford, UK
  • 06.10 – Exchange – Bristol, UK
  • 07.10 – Underground – Plymouth, UK
  • 08.10 – TBC – Belgium
  • 09.10 – Hariko – Luxembourg, LUX
  • 10.10 – TBC – Münster, DE
  • 11.10 – AJZ – Neubrandenburg, DE
  • 13.10 – Hangaren – Stockholm, SE
  • 14.10 – Fabriksgaten 32 – Gothenburg, SE
  • 16.10 – Rote Flora – Hamburg, DE
  • 17.10 – Venue TBC – Berlin, DE
  • 18.10 – Venue TBC – Pilzen, CZ
  • 19.10 – P.M.K – Innsbruck, DE
  • 20.10 – Okthober Fest – Slovakia, SK
  • 21.10 – Venster 99 – Vienna, AT
  • 22.10 – T28 – Milan, IT
  • 23.10 – Klapperfeld – Frankfurt, DE
  • 03.11 – Damnation pre show – Leeds, UK
  • 18.11 – Dead Good Gathering – Liverpool, UK

Follow Dawn Ray’D on Facebook

Dawn Ray’D is:

  • Simon B. – Vocals, Violin
  • Fabian D. – Guitars
  • Matthew B. – Drums

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.