Brendon Small Streams New “My Name Is Murder”

Brendon Small Galaktican album cover

The wait is over – Dethklok mastermind Brendon Small has unleashed a brand new, full track cut from his upcoming high-stakes intergalactic extreme rock/metal album, Galaktikon II: Become The Storm (August 25, 2017 | Megaforce Records/MRI). The new single, entitled “My Name Is Murder”, is available via all streaming platforms today via SpotifyGoogle PlayApple Music, and Amazon.

Brendon Small says: “I wrote all the riffs for “My Name Is Murder” in one sitting, and it quickly became a favorite while we were making the record. Story-wise, this song is about a bad dude doing very bad things, and writing from the POV of a bad guy is very, very fun for me.”

Pre-orders for Galaktikon II: Become The Storm are available now at the links below in all digital and physical formats (including vinyl/picture disc). “My Name Is Murder” is available as an instant grat download when you pre-order via iTunes and Amazon. In addition, another new track – “Nightmare” – is available via iTunes/Amazon, only as an instant grat with pre-order.

Galaktikon II: Become The Storm pre-orders:

The streaming launch of “My Name Is Murder” comes fresh on the heels of Brendon Small’s official San Diego Comic Con signing announcement. Part one of Albatross Funnybooks’ GALAKTIKON – a six-issue series of comic books written by Brendon Small and five-time Eisner Award winner/Albatross founder Eric Powell – will hit stores on August 2. On Friday, July 21 at 2:00pm at the Eric Powell/Albatross booth (#2209), Small will sign copies of a San Diego Comic Con-exclusive metallic variant cover version of the comic. Don’t miss your chance to have your comic signed by the man himself! For more information on GALAKTIKON, visit HERE.

Galaktikon II: Become The Storm follows the space-age theme of 2012’s original Galaktikon album, with a conceptual storyline and a heavier, darker, more brutal sound. In addition to Brendon Small and Grammy-nominated producer/engineer Ulrich Wild (who also worked on the Dethklok albums), Galaktikon II: Become The Storm features the distinct rhythmic powers of drum legend Gene Hoglan (Testament, Death, Dark Angel) and bassist extraordinaire Bryan Beller (The Aristocrats, Joe Satriani, Steve Vai). With uncapped time and creativity on their side, the aforementioned artists have created a heavy metal opus that Dethklok fanatics will covet and newcomers to the world of Brendon Small will add to the top of their playlists.

Galaktikon II: Become The Storm digital/CD track listing:

  1. Some Days Are For Dying
  2. Icarus Six Sixty Six
  3. The Agenda
  4. The Ocean Galaktik
  5. My Name Is Murder
  6. Become The Storm
  7. Nightmare
  8. Could This Be The End
  9. To Kill A God
  10. Exitus
  11. Rebuilding A Planet

In a recent interview with, Brendon Small detailed the writing and recording process behind Galaktikon II: Become The Storm and stated: “[Metalocalypse: The Doomstar Requiem] took a lot out of me – tons of music and history in a very short time frame. But I was feeling like the fans needed something after getting screwed, so I got inspired to start working.” He added, “I grew up on sci-fi, horror, comedy, drama and I love weaving all of those elements together…I love hearing a story that is bigger than the sum of its parts and I guess that’s what I’m challenging myself to do – to make a record and a world that feels larger than just the content you’re hearing.”

Elsewhere in the universe of Brendon Small…

Brendon Small will take part in Brendon Small’s Galaktikon Guitar Camp, scheduled from July 31-August 4, 2017 at The Paul Green Rock Academy in Saugerties, NY (1293 Route 212, a 20 minute drive from Woodstock). Join Small for a week-long guitar intensive where he will cover technique, recording, theory and developing your own voice on the instrument. Included with every package is a one on one guitar lesson with Small himself. Visit this link for daily times and pricing.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.