Body Count Receives Grammy Nomination For “Best Metal Performance”

body count

Los Angeles-based thrash metal outfit Body Count is excited to announce their first-ever Grammy nomination for Best Metal Performance with their controversial yet inspirational single, “Black Hoodie”, taken from their sixth full-length album, “Bloodlust”, out now via Century Media Records. The 60th Grammy Awards show will air live from New York City’s Madison Square Garden on January 28, 2018.

Having been no strangers to tackling controversial current issues, as proven by the mass cultural movement erupted from their infamous 1992 single, “Cop Killer”, Body Count continue to give a voice to the narrative surrounding police shootings as the single’s lyrics and music video echoes the tragic reality of too many inner city youth.

With a stirring music video directed by Treach from Naughty By Nature, Ice-T’s chilling narrative on “Black Hoodie” is further solidified with a refrain from the KRS-One 1993 hit, “Sound of Da Police”, taken from KRS-One’s debut solo LP, “Return of the Boom Bap”. Ice-T states: “This type of thing happens everyday and nobody marches or it never makes the news. The (music) video speaks for itself.”:

Ice-T and Body Count have perfected their mix of thrash, punk and bottom heavy doom since their start in 1992. They embody the monumental Southern California tradition of street born punk bands like Suicidal Tendencies combined with the aggressive aural napalm of Slayer. This is abrasive, in-your-face heavy metal at its very finest.

Body Count line-up:

  • Ice-T – vocals
  • Ernie C – guitars
  • Juan Garcia – guitars
  • Vincent Price – bass
  • Ill Will – drums

Body Count discography:

  • Body Count (1992)
  • Born Dead (1994)
  • Violent Demise: The Last Days (1997)
  • Murder 4 Hire (2006)
  • Manslaughter (2014)​

Follow Body Count online:


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.