Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.


October 6, 2019 @ 6:00 pm - 11:30 pm


“Wanderers Towards Rebirth Tour”, featuring Eluveitie, w/:

  • Korpiklaani
  • Gone In April

@Concord Music Hall
Sunday, October 6
Doors = 6pm
Ages = 17+
Tickets’ starting price = $28
Parking = $25


EluveitieSwiss folk-metal band Eluveitie incorporate folk instrumentation such as hurdy-gurdy, flute, and pipes into an otherwise traditional death metal style, also adding a pagan element channeled through lyrics in the Gaulish language (a dead language in the Celtic family that pre-dated Latin throughout Western Europe). The band is comprised of Chrigel Glanzmann (vocals), Ivo Henzi (guitar), Siméon Koch (guitar), Rafi Kirder (bass), Anna Murphy (hurdy-gurdy), Meri Tadic (violin), Sevan Kirder (whistles, flute, gaita), and Merlin Sutter (drums). Formed in 2002 by vocalist Chrigel Glanzmann (formerly of the bands Môr Cylch and Dornwald), the band began as a one-off studio project resulting in the self-financed EP Vên in 2003. The EP was well received in the underground metal community, and Glanzmann and company decided to carry the Eluveitie project forward, becoming a genuine band.

In 2004, Eluveitie made their live performance debut and signed a recording contract with the Dutch label Fear Dark Records, which released an updated version of the Vên EP. In 2005, the band toured with fellow Fear Dark bands Slechtvalk, Random Eyes, and Pantokrator, and made plans to release their debut album, recording it at the end of the year. Released in 2006 on Fear Dark, Spirit marks the band’s full-length debut. In support of the album, Eluveitietoured Europe with the German band Odroerir, including a co-headlining performance at the 2006 Fear Dark Festivals and at the 2007 Ragnarök Festival in Germany. In late 2007, Eluveitie signed a recording contract with the German label Nuclear Blast, one of the genre’s premier musical outlets, and released their second full-length album, Slania, in 2008. The album became a Top 40 hit on the Swiss albums chart. The nearly all-acoustic LP Evocation I: The Arcane Dominion dropped the following year, while 2010’s Everything Remains (As It Never Was) saw the group returning to their folk-metal roots. 2012’s ambitious Helvetios took the conceptual route, focusing on the Gallic Wars, and 2014’s Origins dealt with Celtic mythology. In 2017, after a flurry of lineup changes, the group returned with Evocation II: Pantheon, the sequel to their 2009 outing The Arcane Dominion. Their second-highest charting effort to date in their native Switzerland, the set also landed in the Top 10 on the U.S. Heatseekers chart. The refreshed lineup soon returned to the studio for a follow-up, returning in 2019 with Ategnatos. Appropriately titled using the Gaulish translation of “reborn,” their eighth album debuted at number three on the Swiss charts and included the singles “Ambiramus” and “The Slumber.” (Source)


KorpiklaaniFinnish folk-metal ensemble Korpiklaani’s sound is governed by the marriage of fat, compressed, electric guitar power riffs, charging accordion, and fiddle underscored by thrumming basslines and whomping, double-timed drums often played in sped-up march rhythms. The effect is at once martial and drunken, always celebratory often with traditional yoik vocals. Though their first three albums — beginning with 2003’s Spirit of the Forest — employed English lyrics and death metal frameworks; by the time they issued their fourth, 2007’s Tervaskanto, they’d shifted to all-Finnish lyrics, and their folk-metal roots gradually claimed the foreground. By 2015’s Noita, folk-metal had become both the root and the branch, resulting in gigs — even those played in the U.S. and Asia — that came off as hedonistic celebrations of Finnish tradition, expert musicianship, and folklore.

The band was formed in 2002 after the members of Shamandecided to update both their sound and name. Taking cues from both the Scandinavian metal scene and the burgeoning progressive folk movement, vocalist/guitarist Jonne Järvelä, violinist Jaakko Lemmetty, drummer Matti “Matson” Johansson, bass player Arto Tissari, guitarist Toni Honkanen, and percussionist Ali Määttä released their debut, Spirit of the Forest, on Napalm Records in 2003. The group gained a new member, accordion player Juho Kauppinen, in 2004, but lost Määttä, Honkanen, and Tissari after 2005’s Voice of Wilderness. Guitar player Kalle “Cane” Savijärviand new bassist Jarkko Aaltonen added to the cacophony for 2006’s Tales Along This Road, another fine collection of whiplash folk and folk-inspired hedonism that rocked harder than most conventional metal acts. The similarly themed Tervaskanto arrived in 2007.

The band then made a move to Nuclear Blast, where they released Korven Kuningas in 2008, and Karkelo in 2009. In 2011, Jaakko Lemmetty announced he would be leaving the band for health reasons, appearing on the band’s seventh album, Ukon Wacka, before being replaced by Tuomas Rounakari. Manala arrived in 2012, but was followed the next year by another departure, this time accordion player Juho Kauppinen, who was replaced by Sami Perttula. The band’s ninth album, Noita, appeared in May 2015, featuring a cover of the Tommy James chestnut “Mony Mony.” In September 2017, the band unleashed their first-ever concert LP/film, Live at Masters of Rock, which was recorded in 2016 at the festival of the same name in Vizovice, Czech Republic. In November, they entered Sound Supreme Studio in Hämeenlinna, Finland with producer/mixing engineer Janne Saksa, who had worked with the band on their just-issued live offering. Preceded by three singles released through late spring and early summer, including the European hit “Henkselipoika,” the full-length Kulkija (“Wanderer”) was issued in September. (Source)