Rivers of Nihil Launch “The Silent Life” Single, Tour With Dying Fetus

Rivers of Nihil Where Owls Know My Name album cover

On March 16th, Rivers of Nihil will release their third full-length, Where Owls Know My Name, via Metal Blade Records. Whereas The Conscious Seed of Light (2013) and Monarchy (2015) were thematically centered around spring and summer, respectively, Where Owls Know My Name represents the fall. And although that season is usually associated with death, for Rivers of Nihil, the autumn serves as a rebirth.

For a first preview of Where Owls Know My Name, the album track “The Silent Life” can be heard at: metalblade.com/riversofnihil – where the record can also be pre-ordered in the following formats:

  • CD
  • Swamp green vinyl + download card (limited to 400 copies – USA exclusive)
  • Olive green w/ black splatter vinyl + download card (limited to 300 copies – USA exclusive)
  • Doublemint inside swamp green vinyl + download card (limited to 300 copies – USA exclusive)
    * exclusive bundles with a shirt, plus digital options are also available!

Where Owls Know My Name reunites Rivers of Nihil with Monarchy producer Carson Slovak (August Burns Red, The Last Ten Seconds of Life) and Dan Seagrave, the storied artist behind such celebrated album covers as Entombed’s Left Hand Path and Suffocation’s Effigy of the Forgotten. The result is the Reading, PA quintet’s most visceral, accomplished, and satisfying offering to-date.

Guitarist Brody Uttley comments, “This record is Rivers of Nihil being exactly who we want to be. Many bands get stuck in a comfortable routine of releasing the same album over and over again. Constantly relying on the same familiar formula may work for some bands, but it does not work for us. Music is art, and art is ever-changing. Without change, there is no progress. Without progress, the very fire that powers art and expression will die. This record is the sound of where we come from, where we are, and where we are going.”

Bassist/vocalist Adam Biggs adds, “This time around, the lyrics feel a little more personal than on previous albums. The story picks up several millennia after the events of ‘Monarchy’, where one person still remains alive, chosen by the planet to be the sole intelligent witness of its ultimate fate. But ‘Where Owls Know My Name’ is less about overarching narrative than our previous albums. The scenario is just a backdrop for the more emotional material we tried to put forth this time around. Ultimately, this is an album about loss, getting older, and reaching a point where death becomes a much more present part of your life.”

Where Owls Know My Name track-listingRivers of Nihil gear

  1. Cancer / Moonspeak
  2. The Silent Life
  3. A Home
  4. Old Nothing
  5. Subtle Change (Including the Forest of Transition and Dissatisfaction Dance)
  6. Terrestria III: Wither
  7. Hollow
  8. Death Is Real
  9. Where Owls Know My Name
  10. Capricorn / Agoratopia

To kick-off the album’s release, Rivers of Nihil will embark on a North American tour this March/April with Dying Fetus, Thy Art Is Murder, Enterprise Earth, and Sanction. The journey will commence March 15th in Poughkeepsie, New York and make its way through nearly three-dozen cities, drawing to a close on April 22nd in Amityville, New York. See dates and locations below:

Rivers of Nihil w/ Dying Fetus, Thy Art Is Murder, Enterprise Earth, Sanction:

  • 3/15/2018 The Chance – Poughkeepsie, NY
  • 3/16/2018 Montage Music Hall – Rochester, NY
  • 3/17/2018 Agora – Cleveland, OH
  • 3/18/2018 Opera House – Toronto, ON
  • 3/20/2018 Crofoot – Pontiac, MI
  • 3/21/2018 The Forge – Joliet, IL
  • 3/22/2018 Skyway – Minneapolis, MN
  • 3/23/2018 Aftershock – Merriam, KS
  • 3/24/2018 Summit – Denver, CO
  • 3/27/2018 Bossanov – Portland, OR
  • 3/28/2018 Studio Seven – Seattle, WA
  • 3/30/2018 The Ritz – San Jose, CA
  • 3/31/2018 Glasshouse – Pomona, CA
  • 4/01/2018 Club Red – Phoenix, AZ
  • 4/03/2018 The Vanguard – Tulsa, OK
  • 4/04/2018 The Riff – Springfield, MO
  • 4/06/2018 International – Knoxville, TN
  • 4/07/2018 The Ground – Miami, FL
  • 4/08/2018 Orpheum – Tampa, FL
  • 4/09/2018 Zydeco – Birmingham, AL
  • 4/10/2018 Masquerade – Atlanta, GA
  • 4/11/2018 1904 – Jacksonville, FL
  • 4/13/2018 Come And Take It Live – Houston, TX
  • 4/14/2018 Texas Independence Fest – Austin, TX
  • 4/15/2018 Gas Monkey Live – Dallas, TX
  • 4/17/2018 Ready Room – St. Louis, MO
  • 4/18/2018 Skully’s Music Diner – Columbus, OH
  • 4/19/2018 One Centre Square – Allentown, PA
  • 4/20/2018 New England Metal & Hardcore Fest – Worcester, MA
  • 4/21/2018 House Of Independence – Asbury Park, NJ
  • 4/22/2018 Revolution – Amityville, NY

Follow Rivers of Nihil online:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.