Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.


November 14, 2019 @ 7:30 pm - 11:30 pm


Nile: A Vile Caustic Attack Tour 2019

  • Nile
  • Terrorizer
  • Morta Skuld
  • Lifes

@Turner Hall Ballroom
Thursday, November 14
Doors = 6:30pm
Show = 7:30 pm
All Ages
Tickets = $25


Combining the extreme speed and nihilism of modern death metal with the ancient styling of Middle Eastern music, Nileformed in their hometown of Greenville, SC, in 1993. With their self-proclaimed trademark of “Ithyphallic Metal,” Karl Sanders (guitar/vocals), Chief Spires (bass/vocals), and Pete Hammoura (drums) debuted with their Festivals of Atonement album in 1995, leading Nile to a southwestern tour in support of other big metal acts such as Obituary, Deicide, and Broken Hope. Viscera Productions was responsible for Nile’s follow-up EP, Ramses Bringer of War, in 1997 and was going to release their second album, Amongst the Catacombs of Nephren-Ka — that is, if they hadn’t gone out of business later that year. However, Relapse Records was more than happy to put it out in early 1998, giving Nile a wider distribution and a chance to hit the road with Incantation and Morbid Angel. The follow-up, Black Seeds of Vengeance, was released in late 2000. A collection of remastered, hard to find recordings, In the Beginning was released later the same year. By 2002, the highly anticipated In Their Darkened Shrines was dropped and the buzz around it led to mainstream coverage the band had never experienced before. Nile returned in 2005 with Annihilation of the Wicked, their first album with new drummer George Kollias and their last album on Relapse. After signing with Nuclear Blast, the band quickly followed up in 2007 with Ithyphallic before setting out across the U.S. on the Ozzfest tour, as well as touring South Africa and Europe. In 2009 Nilewent back into the studio with producer Neil Kernon (of Queensrÿche), and released their sixth studio album, Those Whom the Gods Detest, late that year. At the Gates of Sethu arrived in 2012, and What Should Not Be Unearthed, their eighth studio long player, followed in 2015. (Source)


The beginnings of grindcore are often pinpointed to Napalm Death’s 1987 masterpiece Scum and the early work of Carcass, but the 1989 release World Downfall by the overlooked outfit Terrorizer is often talked about in revered tones by extreme metallists worldwide. Featuring members David Vincent (bass, vocals), Pete Sandoval (drums), Jesse Pintado (guitar), and Oscar Garcia (vocals), Terrorizer’s lone album has spawned countless imitators over the years, due to its groundbreaking merger of both speed and aggression. Produced by renowned thrash/death metal producer Scott Burns, all you have to do is check out some of the song titles to know what type of a hellacious musical ride that’ll soon be in store — “Fear of Napalm,” “Strategic Warheads,” “Enslaved by Propaganda,” “Dead Shall Rise,” and the like. After breaking up, all of Terrorizer’s members appeared in other outfits — Vincent with the Genitorturers, Sandoval with Morbid Angel, Pintado with Napalm Death, and Garcia with Nausea. (Source)

Morta Skuld

Early in their career, Milwaukee, Wisconsin’s Morta Skuldaccomplished the impressive feat of being signed by leading British independent metal label Peaceville, but with no company showing similar interest in their homeland, they never quite managed to ascend beyond the underground death metal scene. Originally founded in 1989, Morta Skuldrecorded and circulated two separate demos (1990’s Gory Departure and 1991’s Prolong the Agony) before pairing up with Rhode Island’s Vital Remains for a split single in 1993, which would duly get both bands signed to Peaceville. Morta Skuld struck first, however, unleashing their Dying Remains debut later that same year and heading out on tour with genre fixtures like Death, Obituary, and Deicide, then repeating the pattern with 1994’s As Humanity Fades and 1995’s For All Eternity, which were followed by more rigorous roadwork in support of Morbid Angel, Cannibal Corpse, and others.

But, as mentioned earlier, none of these releases, though brimming with ably performed American death metal, made it into record stores unless imported from overseas, and so Morta Skuld’s frustrated members, Dave Gregor(vocals/guitar), Jason O’Connell (guitar), Jason Hellman(bass), and Kent Truckenbrod (drums), decided to link up with U.S.-based Pavement Records for the release of their fourth album, Surface, in 1998. Unfortunately, by then it was seemingly too late for the group, which was splitting at the seams. O’Connell was the first to bounce (or get bounced!), quickly followed by Truckenbrod, and after hiring a new drummer in former Acrophet man Jason Mooney, the new trio renamed itself MS2 and sold out to nu metal before morphing yet again into a more groove-metal-oriented direction as 9mm Solution, recording one EP and two albums in the late 2000s. The band’s early career dreams were compiled for posterity by Peaceville in 2005’s Re-Surface: The Best of Morta Skuld, and in 2017 Morta Skuldresurfaced with founding member David Gregor (guitars/vocals), guitarist Scott Willecke, drummer Eric House, and bassist Al Lewandowski, and released their first collection of new music since 1997, Wounds Deeper Than Time. (Source)