Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Cannibal Corpse

March 4, 2019 @ 6:00 pm - 11:30 pm


Cannibal Corpse, w/:

  • Morbid Angel
  • Necrot
  • Blood Incantation

@Concord Music Hall
Monday, March 4
Doors = 6:00 pm
Ages = 17+
Tickets = $25 (+$25 parking)

Cannibal Corpse

Cannibal Corpse“If vomit were a movie, this would be the soundtrack,” wrote one critic of Cannibal Corpse’s music, some of the most extreme, violent death metal sounds and subject matter ever committed to tape. Reveling in splatter-horror imagery in their often indecipherable lyrics, the group’s graphic album artwork and song titles like “Meat Hook Sodomy,” “Entrails Ripped from a Virgin’s Cunt,” “Fucked with a Knife,” and so on, have — not surprisingly — attracted a fair amount of controversy and sometimes resulted in their albums being banned. However, their over the top extremity has won them a rabid cult following and made them one of the most popular death metal bands of the ’90s; sticking with what works, the band didn’t alter or develop its style much over the decade, although fans didn’t seem to mind.

Cannibal Corpse were formed in Buffalo, New York, in 1988, their lineup composed mostly of musically active scenesters: vocalist Chris Barnes, guitarists Bob Rusay and Jack Owen, bassist Alex Webster, and drummer Paul Mazurkiewicz. Musically, they were closest to Slayer, although more extreme metal bands like Death also played a role in their sound. A 1989 demo helped the band secure a contract with Metal Blade Records, which released their debut album, Eaten Back to Life, in 1990. A cult following began to build behind the group with albums like 1991’s Butchered at Birth and 1992’s Tomb of the Mutilated. Bob Rusay was fired in 1993 and replaced with ex-Malevolent Creation guitarist Rob Barrett, who joined the group in time to appear as a club band in the Jim Carrey film Ace Ventura: Pet Detective.

Barrett debuted on record with 1994’s (relatively) more accessible The Bleeding, which proved to be Barnes’ final album. 1996’s Vile featured ex-Monstrosity vocalist George “Corpsegrinder” Fisher. Cannibal Corpse soldiered on through the decade, returning in 1998 with Gallery of Suicide. Bloodthirst followed a year later, and in 2000 the band issued both a video and CD titled Live Cannibalism(their second concert video but first official live album). Gore Obsessed arrived in 2002, followed by the obsessively packaged box set/DVD 15 Year Killing Spree. Their ninth album of all-new material, Wretched Spawn, was released in 2004, followed by Kill in 2006. In 2008, the band went back into the studio with producer Erik Rutan (of Hate Eternal), emerging early the following year with the band’s highest-charting album, Evisceration Plague. Two years later the gore-metal masters released the live DVD Global Evisceration before returning with the all-new studio album Torture in 2012. A Skeletal Domain, the band’s 13th long-player, followed in 2014.

After some rigorous touring, Cannibal Corpse’s members pursued other projects. Fisher formed Serpentine Dominionwith Killswitch Engage guitarist Adam D, and ex-the Black Dahlia Murder drummer Shannon Lucas. Guitarist Jack Owen joined Six Feet Under, led by vocalist (and former CCbandmate) Chris Barnes. Cannibal Corpse reconvened in 2017 with longtime producer Erik Rutan (Hate Eternal) at his Mana Recording Studios in Florida and tracked their 14th album Red Before Black. A video single, “Code of the Slashers,” directed by Zev Deans, was issued in September with the album following in early November, the same day a national tour with Power Trip and Gatecreeper began. (Source)

Morbid Angel

morbid angelGroups like Venom, Mercyful Fate, and Slayer may have founded death metal in the early ’80s, but it wasn’t until such disciples as Morbid Angel came along at the close of the decade that the genre was pushed to its most extreme level, both musically and lyrically. Formed in 1984 in Florida, Morbid Angel(along with Death) would also help spearhead an eventual death metal movement in their home state, which would include such notables as Deicide and Obituary, among countless others.

From its inception, the group’s leader has been guitarist/songwriter Trey Azagthoth, who has successfully maintained that Morbid Angel stick to their guns throughout countless musical fads during their career. Over the course of their first few releases, 1989’s Altars of Madness and 1991’s Blessed Are the Sick (the latter considered by many as a landmark release in the death metal genre), the group’s lineup consisted of Azagthoth, vocalist/bassist David Vincent, guitarist Richard Brunelle, and drummer Pete Sandoval. With Brunelle bowing out of the group shortly thereafter and replaced by Erik Rutan, Morbid Angel had come across what would become the longest-lasting lineup of their career, showcased on such albums as 1991’s Abominations of Desolation, 1993’s Covenant, 1995’s Domination, and 1996’s in-concert Entangled in Chaos, before Vincent jumped ship and was replaced with Steve Tucker.

he Tucker-led lineup lasted for a pair of releases, 1997’s Formulas Fatal to the Flesh and 2000’s Gateways to Annihilation, before he was replaced with former Hate Eternal vocalist/bassist Jared Anderson. Morbid Angelspent the summer of 2001 touring U.S. arenas along with Pantera and Slayer as part of the multi-band Extreme Steel Tour. After briefly rejoining the band and recording their seventh studio album, Heretic, Tucker left again to be replaced by Vincent. Although the band continued to tour, with multiple lineup changes, a new record didn’t materialize until 2011. Illud Divinum Insanus was released through the independent French label Season of Mist, and was the only one to feature Vincent following his return in 2004.

After another lengthy gap in recording — and the news in 2015 that Vincent had once again left the band — Tuckerrejoined Morbid Angel. Although they intended to tour in 2017, they were forced to cancel their booked shows due to passport issues. Eager to fix the problem, Morbid Angelplanned to reschedule the tour for 2018, and in the meantime released their ninth studio record, Kingdoms Disdained, in December 2017. (Source)


 NecrotCalifornia death metal band Necrot were formed in April 2011 from the skeletons of others acts on that scene, including Acephalix, Vastum, Lawless, and Saviours. Their membership includes drummer Chad Gailey, bassist/guitarist/vocalist Luca Indrio, and guitarist Sonny Reinhardt. They are typified by an extremely aggressive and hard-grooving sound that pays little attention to developments on the scene. Their first two demos — the first self-titled and the second titled Into the Labyrinth — both appeared in 2012 under the Blood Divine label umbrella, followed by 2014’s The Abyss, which showcased an increased confidence gained from playing local and regional shows. Necrot also garnered a boatload of positive press from underground media. After more touring and additional writing in the woodshed, Necrot compiled their EPs on The Labyrinth in 2016 for Tankcrimes, who signed them to an extended deal. Blood Offerings, their proper label full-length, was released in June of 2017 to universal critical acclaim in the metal press. (Source)